Home » Football » Ravens In The Fog

Ravens In The Fog

67970_10200557668248624_1644720583_nWhat a sad world we live in….my son who lives in San Francisco and of course is a die-hard Raven’s fan has become part of a fan group called… Raven’s In The Fog. They have been meeting at a local Bar to watch this year’s amazing Raven’s ride.  Recently they have become national news including yesterday’s article in the Baltimore Sun.

http://www.baltimoresun.com/features/bs-ae-ravens-in-fog-20130129,0,3475652.story

Me in my own Raven’s fog has been enjoying seeing him in the paper and seeing other news outlets reporting on the story, they were also featured in an online story on WBAL.  Somewhere in the back of my mind I have to admit I had some concerns about my son being in “enemy territory” watching the Super Bowl. Well here comes the sad world we live in…..the group was forced or strongly encouraged by the San Francisco police department to cancel the event, they can not guarantee their safety.

I have mixed feelings about this….of course I worry that his good-natured “rooting for his team” may rub someone the wrong way, but really people? IT’S A FOOTBALL GAME!!!!!! When did cheering on your team become something that needed protection? Now I am as avid a fan as anyone, but it has never crossed my mind to hurl obscenities or punches at an opposing teams fan. My god we have a Redskins fan in the family. The transplant Raven’s fans living in San Francisco live there because they love it, they were not sent to destroy the 49ers fan base.

Can’t we all just get along?  I understand the strange predicament that the SF Police are in and I surely do not want any harm to come to my Son or any of the Purple contingent that call SF their home. But why can’t we have the freedom to cheer our favorite team on without worrying about our safety. Don’t we have bigger issues?

So here’s to you Raven’s In The Fog…..sorry your Event was taken away….I admire the passion you show your beloved Baltimore Raven’s ……Be Safe!!!

One thought on “Ravens In The Fog

Leave a Reply

