Home » Uncategorized » Let The Pre-Gaming of The Holidays Commence

Let The Pre-Gaming of The Holidays Commence

It begins this time every year…….

Packing away the spooky decor of another Halloween I am beside myself with eagerness to unfurl my paper Turkey and proudly display my Woodland  Tree.  I like to slowly transform my home from Fall to Christmas starting right after the last pack of Smarties hit my husbands mouth, which is usually the day after Halloween.
It’s no surprise to anyone that knows me that I live for this time of year. I love the sappy movies, the decorations, the weather….all of it just makes me giddy! As I write this I am enjoying the Hallmark Channel’s Countdown to Christmas  and let’s not forget the “Countdown to the real Countdown to the 25 days of Christmas” movies which will begin on November 19th on ABC Family. Unfortunately the time of year which is supposed to bring us together separates my husband and I to different rooms of the house, he can only stomach so much of the holiday drama that I can watch over and over again, I just can’t help myself.

I don’t attach a lot of sentiment in very many objects but I can’t help but smile when I take out my huge Pottery Barn Turkey plate that I bought in New York for $14.00 and lugged on the subway back to our hotel much to the displeasure of my daughters and best friend( hey this girl knows a good deal when she see’s it). The pine cone turkey that one of the kid’s made in grade school must take its rightful place on the jelly cupboard or it wouldn’t be Thanksgiving.

This time of year never lasts long enough for me, I am just not a Summer girl, it seems as though I live the entire rest of the year preparing for this season….At the first smell of a fire I feel like I come out of hibernation, mulled cider or wine for that matter even better,  beautiful leaves that  turn unbelievable colors, the sunsets and moon even take on different personalities…..

Even though the whole family being together at the same time is becoming quite the rarity with the kids starting to develop roots in different area codes, my motherly instinct needs to keep the status quo here on the home front.

So coffee in hand I will make the Cranberry Lime Vodka, line up my recipes for Thanksgiving and holiday treats, lose sleep over where the tree will go this year and relish in just breathing in the Autumn air.

In this time of turmoil for so many of our northern neighbors ravaged by the recent storm, and the vast population hoping for a brighter future I am hoping this season brings comfort and shelter and promise of better things to come…..

Leave a Reply

